Problems with November for Bach Font

Discussions, advice, bug reports and much more about the "bach" environment.
bfuhrman

Problems with November for Bach Font

Post by bfuhrman » Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:35 pm

I'm getting some bizarre display issues with the November for Bach font as seen in the attached screenshots. I'm running Win10 Pro 64bit, Max 8.05 64bit, and the latest stable version of Bach from the Package Manager in Max (although I've also tried downloading the 8.0.1 beta). I've rebuilt the Windows font cache using the Winaero instructions https://winaero.com/blog/rebuild-font-cache-windows-10/ and have reinstalled both Max and Bach.

It's like there is no instance of the font anywhere on my system or in the Bach package.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
BachRoll.png
BachRoll.png (126.45 KiB) Viewed 3174 times

danieleghisi
Site Admin

Re: Problems with November for Bach Font

Post by danieleghisi » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:34 am

Hi, this is weird. I'm no expert on Windows, so I'll let someone else try to answer.
(In principle the font should be charged at runtime, you should not need to install it.)
Just want to point out that you can use other supported fonts, by changing the @notationfont, @accidentalsfont and @articulationsfont attributes.

bfuhrman

Post by bfuhrman » Fri Apr 26, 2019 5:48 pm

Hi Daniele-
Where in the Bach package is the font located? The only one I see is the Microton.ttf in the Bach 0.7.9 package. No other fonts are there.

As for changing the font, I've tried changing to Bravura and get the error "bach.roll: Warning: font Bravura is not supported as notation font." Same with Emmentaler, which is also SMUFL compliant, and Maestro, which is not. In fact, any font that I try and load into the @notationfont, @accidentalsfont, or @articulationsfont produces the same error.

Thanks!

danieleghisi
Site Admin

Post by danieleghisi » Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:58 am

Hi,