[beginner's help] real time recording

Discussions, advice, bug reports and much more about the "bach" environment.
die.alte.gabe

[beginner's help] real time recording

Post by die.alte.gabe » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:06 pm

hello.

i''ve discovered bachproject.net a couple of days ago and it is, therefore, fair to say that i'm a beginner. first of all: thank you for this really amazing and fantastic tool. i didn't know that this is what i've been looking for the whole time! great work, thank you so much!

so, i've been reading the basic tutorials and a lot of help files the last two days to make some first steps in bach. it all works fine so far but now i'm stuck and i don't know in which direction the solution might be hiding. that's why i wanted to know if you could give me a clue where to look.

i'd like to record in a score what my max patch i had programmed earlier is doing. i have worked out how to add chords with the addchord message and how to put them into the right format (e.g. addchord (1000 (6000 500 100)) ). but how can i make it work that the elapsed time in my piece corresponds to the time in bach.roll? i basically would wish for bach.roll to record what my patch is producing while it is producing it, in real time that is. so, a possible reformulation of my question would be: how can i make the bach.roll "move" or "play" and insert notes as i go? or am i completely mistaken with this approach?

i've tried to attach my file so that you can have a look at it. unfortunately, it tells me that "the extension maxpat is not allowed" – why is that? anyway, i'd appreciate it if someone could give me a clue!

thank you,

christoph

danieleghisi
Site Admin

Re: [beginner's help] real time recording

Post by danieleghisi » Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:15 pm

Hi, have a look at [bach.transcribe] and its help file.
It's meant to be used with real-time recording...
It also has a @play attribute.

Hope this helps.
Daniele

die.alte.gabe